About NITs - National Institutes of Technology

The National Institutes of Technology (NITs): are a group of higher education engineering institutes in India. Comprising thirty autonomous institutes, they are located in one each major state/territory of India. On their inception decades ago, all NITs were referred to as Regional Engineering Colleges (RECs) and were governed by their respective state governments. A parliamentary legislation in 2002 brought them under the direct purview of India's federal government. In 2007, through legislation, the Indian government declared these schools as Institutes of National Importance at par with the Indian Institutes of Technology.

NITs were found to promote regional diversity and multi-cultural understanding in India. Therefore, in the NIT school system, 50% of the student population in each batch is drawn from the respective state of the NIT and the other 50% is drawn from the rest of India on a common merit list. This is different than the Indian Institutes of Technology or IITs - another prominent engineering school system in India. An IIT need not accept specified number of students from any region of India as the IIT admission criteria is based only on the performance of a student in an entrance examination.

NITs offer degree courses at bachelors, masters, and doctorate levels in various branches of engineering and technology. Various nationwide college surveys rate most of the NITs over other colleges in India, except for the IITs and a few other institutions. NITs function autonomously, similarly to IITs, sharing only entrance tests. The autonomy enables the NITs to set up their own curriculum, thereby making it easier to adapt to changing industry requirements. The admissions to the Undergraduate Programmes at these institutions for all Indian and Foreign nationals are made through the Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) Main.

NITs and locations, sorted by date of establishment
No. of seats
1NIT Allahabad19612001AllahabadUttar Pradesh878
2NIT Bhopal19602002BhopalMadhya Pradesh948
3NIT Calicut19612002CalicutKerala956
4NIT Hamirpur19862002HamirpurHimachal Pradesh745
5NIT Jaipur19632002JaipurRajasthan739
6NIT Jalandhar19872002JalandharPunjab807
7NIT Jamshedpur19602002JamshedpurJharkhand657
8NIT Kurukshetra19632002KurukshetraHaryana862
9NIT Nagpur19602002NagpurMaharashtra930
10NIT Rourkela19612002RourkelaOdisha887
11NIT Silchar19672002SilcharAssam688
12NIT Karnataka19602002MangaloreKarnataka782
13NIT Warangal19592002WarangalTelangana817
14NIT Durgapur19602003DurgapurWest Bengal725
15NIT Srinagar19602003SrinagarJammu and Kashmir672
16NIT Surat19612003SuratGujarat899
17NIT Trichy19642003TrichyTamil Nadu831
18NIT Patna18862004PatnaBihar680
19NIT Raipur19562005RaipurChhattisgarh975
20NIT Agartala19652006AgartalaTripura877
21NIT Arunachal Pradesh20102010YupiaArunachal Pradesh190
22NIT Delhi20102010New DelhiDelhi182
23NIT Goa20102010FarmagudiGoa150
24NIT Manipur20102010ImphalManipur180
25NIT Meghalaya20102010ShillongMeghalaya152
26NIT Mizoram20102010AizawlMizoram150
27NIT Nagaland20102010DimapurNagaland180
28NIT Puducherry20102010KaraikalPuducherry240
29NIT Sikkim20102010RavanglaSikkim204
30NIT Uttarakhand20102010SrinagarUttarakhand150
31NIT Andhra Pradesh20152015TadepalligudemAndhra Pradesh487